Richard III: Implementation Notes

The rule book and card texts from Richard III unfortunately leave some things unspecified. The interpretations used in this implementation are listed here.

How do I designate the attacking main force?

The first block that moves into a contested area defines the main force. Any other blocks who enter the battle from the same road also count as being part of the main force. The attacking main force move is marked with an asterisk in the game log.

If the defender is eliminated mid-round, when are the attacker/defender roles swapped?

Immediately. This means that any (formerly) attacking blocks that haven't fired yet can benefit from defender bonuses when firing at the reserve blocks.

Are reserves revealed from the start of battle, or only when they enter in round two?

Reserves are kept hidden until they enter the battle in round two.

Does a senior heir in the reserve prevent a junior heir on the field of battle from charging or using the defense bonus?

No. Only heirs revealed in combat are looked at when determining the most senior heir present.

Which shields can Lancaster heirs use for the defense bonus?

The most senior Lancaster heir in the battle can benefit from the common Lancaster shield.

Only Exeter, Somerset, and Richmond can benefit from their owns shields, unless they are dead, in which case their shields are treated like the common Lancaster shield.

How many heirs are entered if multiple heirs are killed in one turn?

One minor for each heir that has been eliminated.

Can I recruit with with the 1 AP from the Force March, Treason, or Surprise cards?

No. The card text says "move one group".

Can I use the Treason and Surprise cards for sea movement?


Can I use the port-to-port bonus with the Piracy event if not attacking?

Yes. The port-to-port bonus is only lost if the event is used to attack with a sea move.